Mayor of Caerphilly – Councillor John Bevan

Councillor John Bevan was appointed to the Office of Mayor on 18 May 2017 and replaces outgoing civic head Cllr Dianne Price.

John grew up in Phillipstown. He studied in New Tredegar Technical College, followed by the mining department in both Crumlin and Crosskeys College before taking employment in mining, ending in Deep Navigation Colliery where he worked until it closed in 1991.

John has held the position as local member for the Moriah Ward since 1996 but started his political career more than 43 years ago when he took up a position on the Rhymney community Council.

John is close to his family and has 1 daughter, 2 grandchildren and 3 great grandchildren who all live close by. His hobbies include watching sport and socialising in his local community.

John has chosen to raise funds for the charities Cancer Research Wales and CRY in Memory of Jack Thomas during his year in office.

The Deputy Mayor is Councillor Mike Adams, who represents the Pontllanfraith ward.

The Mayor welcomes invitations to attend events held by local organisations. Please contact the Mayor's Office for further information. It may not be possible for the Mayor to attend every event but if the Mayor is available, you will be contacted in good time.

Previous Mayors of Caerphilly

  • 2016 - Dianne Price
  • 2015 - Leon Gardiner
  • 2014 - David Carter
  • 2013 - Michael Gray
  • 2012 - Gaynor Oliver
  • 2011 - Vera Jenkins
  • 2010 - James Fussell
  • 2009 - John Evans
  • 2008 - Anne Collins
  • 2007 - Allen Williams
  • 2006 - Elizabeth Aldworth
Contact us