News Centre

Christmas recycling and refuse collections

Posted on : 04 Dec 2018

Christmas recycling and refuse collections
Christmas recycling and refuse collections
 
Recycling and refuse collections across Caerphilly county borough will take place as follows over the festive period:
 
Normal Collection Day Revised Collection Day
Monday 24/12/18 Normal Collection day
Tuesday 25/12/18 Thursday 27/12/18
Wednesday 26/12/18 Friday 28/12/18
Thursday 27/12/18 Saturday 29/12/18
Friday 28/12/18 Sunday 30/12/18
Monday 31/12/18 Normal Collections
Tuesday 01/01/19 Wednesday 02/01/19
Wednesday 02/01/19 Thursday 03/01/19
Thursday 03/01/19 Friday 04/01/19
Friday 04/01/19 Saturday 05/01/19
 
There will be no collections on Christmas Day, Boxing Day or New Year’s Day.
 
Residents are reminded to have their bins and boxes out for collection prior to 6am on their revised collection day.
 
Recycling should be placed loose into the recycling bin (not in bags). Additional recycling that cannot fit in the recycling bin will be collected providing it is placed in clear bags (not black bags) and placed at the kerbside next to the bin.
 
Public toilets and recycling centres will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.
 
The council is also keen to highlight the importance of recycling food waste – through its weekly food waste collection service – for the recycling of food scrapings, peelings, tea bags, bread etc.
 
Cabinet Member Cllr Nigel George said, “Our recycling collection service is provided every week of the year – I’d like to thank all those who are currently participating in our recycling schemes and would encourage all of our residents to recycle even more wherever they are able to over the festive period”.
 
For more information on recycling, please visit www.caerphilly.gov.uk/recycling or call 01443 866533.


Media Enquiries