cllr-liz-aldworth.jpgMayor of Caerphilly – Councillor Elizabeth M. Aldworth

Councillor Elizabeth M. Aldworth was appointed to the Office of Mayor on 19th May 2022 and replaces outgoing civic head Councillor Carol Andrews.

Elizabeth accepted the position of civic head at the Annual Meeting of Council held on Thursday 19th May following the 2022 Local Government Elections.

“To represent Caerphilly as Mayor is such an honour and notwithstanding, that I have previously held this position back in 2006/07, it is more than I ever expected to carry out this important role now in 2022.  I promise to uphold the Council and its Residents in the highest standard of my being and look forward to a great year."

Liz grew up in Senghenydd and has very fond memories of School and the friendships she has maintained over the years. Following Secretarial College, she worked as a secretary shorthand typist in the private sector both in Cardiff and locally. She has also been involved as a School Governor, a Trustee and a Committee Member of numerous local organisations.

From 1991, Liz has served as a Rhymney Valley District Councillor, a Community Councillor for Bedwas, Trethomas & Machen Community Council and a Caerphilly County Borough Councillor.

Liz's Husband of 47 years, Mike will accompany her while conducting her civic duties. They have resided in Trethomas, where their two daughters’ attended school.  They now have six grandchildren ranging from 4-27 years old.

Liz has chosen to raise funds for #TurnABUHBPink during her year in office. The charity raises money to support the Aneurin Bevan University Health Board NHS Breast Unit at Ystrad Fawr Hospital.

The Deputy Mayor has been announced as Cllr Mike Adams, who represents Pontllanfraith.

The Mayor welcomes invitations to attend events held by local organisations. Please contact the Mayor's Office for further information. It may not be possible for the Mayor to attend every event but if the Mayor is available, you will be contacted in good time.

Previous Mayors of Caerphilly

  • 2020 - Carol Andrews
  • 2019 - Julian Simmonds
  • 2018 - Michael Adams
  • 2017 - John Bevan
  • 2016 - Dianne Price
  • 2015 - Leon Gardiner
  • 2014 - David Carter
  • 2013 - Michael Gray
  • 2012 - Gaynor Oliver
  • 2011 - Vera Jenkins
  • 2010 - James Fussell
  • 2009 - John Evans
  • 2008 - Anne Collins
  • 2007 - Allen Williams
  • 2006 - Elizabeth Aldworth
Contact us