The village is named after Lt. Colonel Alexander Keith Wyllie from Liverpool who was a director of the Tredegar Iron and Coal Company and Oakdale Colliery.
Wyllie Colliery opened in 1926 and was the last pit sunk by the Tredegar Iron and Coal Company. Wyllie village was also built at this time to house the colliery workers.
At its peak Wyllie Colliery employed 830 men.
The village is situated within a picturesque setting 15 minutes to the North of the village is Gelligroes Water Mill. It is said that an amateur radio enthusiast heard the first distress signals from the Titanic at the mill.
Continue along the cycle way southwards and enjoy the fantastic scenery of the Sirhowy Valley Country Park.
Caerphilly County Borough has a wide range of accommodation for visitors including hotels, inns, B & Bs, guesthouses and self-catering cottages. For further information please go to the Visit Caerphilly website.
To find how to get to this village, click here. Supported by Google™ MapsUK.
|Public houses||Bus station||Accommodation|
The new improved link allows quick and easy access from Wyllie onto the National Cycle Way (route 47). The main N47 route runs through a beautiful and quiet area with some spectacular views over the valley.
Use directional arrows to scrool the map, to reset position and scale, click the middle CIRCLE button.
To zoom in and out, drag the tab left or right.
Each symbol pops a "slide in" box, just move your mouse pointer on top of each symbol.